Institution Membership of the AAQS

Membership of the AAQS was initially limited to associations / insitutions of quantity surveyors on the African continent.  The current Institution Members of the AAQS are:

  • Angola Association of Quantity Surveyors (AAQS)
  • Association of South African Quantity Surveyors (ASAQS)
  • Ghana Institution of Surveyors (GhIS)
  • Institute of Botswana Quantity Surveyors (IBQS)
  • Institute of Namibian Quantity Surveyors (INQS)
  • Institute of Quantity Surveyors of Kenya (IQSK)
  • Institution of Surveyors of Uganda (ISU)
  • Lesotho Association of Quantity Surveyors (LAQS)
  • Mauritius Association of Quantity Surveyors (MAQS)
  • Mozambique Association of Quantity Surveyors (MAQS)
  • Nigerian Institute of Quantity Surveyors (NIQS)
  • Quantity Surveyor Chapter of the Architectural Association of Kenya (AAK)
  • Surveyors Institute of Malawi (SIM)
  • Surveyors Institute of Zambia (SIZ)
  • Swaziland Association of Quantity Surveyors (SAQS)
  • Tanzania Institute of Quantity Surveyors (TIQS)
  • Zimbabwe Institute of Quantity Surveyors (ZIQS)

Practice Membership

The Council of the AAQS resolved during 2011 to introduce a separate Practice Membership category. This decision was taken following ongoing requests from practices for such a category of membership to be introduced and numerous practices had expressed the wish to become more directly involved with the affairs and activities of the AAQS. 


Enshrined in the constitution of the AAQS are the following objectives:

  • To unite on a democratic basis and to foster co-operative, intellectual, cultural, educational and scientific ties among national bodies of quantity surveyors on the African continent
  • To foster and maintain professional contacts, mutual support and assistance amongst members and to maintain contact with other international associations of similar objectives and functions
  • To promote the recognition of the quantity surveyor’s role in society and to maintain public confidence in the integrity and the competence of quantity surveyors by encouraging members of the Association to maintain the highest professional standards and ethics
  • To promote and encourage development and education in quantity surveying
  • To promote research and technical advancement in the built environment
  • To promote free movement of quantity surveyors amongst member countries
  • To provide all possible support to the creation of bodies of quantity surveyors throughout the continent
  • To promote the development and use of model documentation

Institution Membership Fees

The Institution Membership fees for the period 1 July 2018 to 30 June 2019 are as follows:

    South African Rand
* Category A: Large institutions/associations
(eg Nigeria and South Africa)
ZAR 13,700.00
* Category B: Medium size institutions/associations
(eg Ghana, Kenya)
ZAR 8,100.00
* Category C: Small institutions/associations
(eg Mauritius, Namibia, Tanzania, Uganda)
ZAR 4,200.00
* Category D: Smaller institutions /associations
(eg Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Swaziland, Zambia, Zimbabwe)
ZAR 2,950.00
* Category E: One-representative institutions/associations  
(eg Angola, Mozambique)
ZAR 1,000.00

Half the annual subscription will be applicable for the first year of membership if the remaining period of the first year is six months or less


All applications must be forwarded with proof of payment on the prescribed application form to the offices of the AAQS

Contact details of AAQS

The contact details of the AAQS office are as follows:

  • Physical address : Suite G6, Building 27, Thornhill Office Park, Bekker Road, Midrand, 1686, South Africa
  • Postal Address : P.O. Box 3527, Halfway House, 1685, South Africa
  • Telephone : +27 (11) 315 4140
  • Facsimile : +27 (11) 315 3785
  • E-mail :